Mithra Pharmaceuticals strengthens its portfolio of innovations with the acquisition of Women’s Health products from Uteron Pharma

These products will reinforce Mithra’s R&D capabilities, and represent an opportunity to become a leading player in Woman’s Health.

Estelle™, a new generation of Oral Contraception based on a natural compound in mid stage development

Estelle™ is a next generation combined oral contraceptive (COC) based on Estetrol (E4), a natural estrogen which the Company believes will provide a prolonged half-life, a higher safety margin, less interference with liver and metabolic functions and an improved side effect profile. Estetrol is being studied in combination with a progestin and will be developed in a convenient dosing regimen. Phase II studies have demonstrated a good contraceptive activity and bleeding profile.

This project Estelle™ is being developed for global markets, with an anticipated launch in 2019.  It is estimated that more than 100 million women worldwide rely on oral contraceptive pills for routine contraception.

“E4 is a natural steroid, present at high levels during pregnancy, both in the mother and in the foetus. While potentially offering protection against deep venous thrombo-embolism (VTE) E4 may also produce less subjective side effects such as breast tension and tenderness, weight gain, edema, nausea, abdominal bloating, headache, mood changes that can exist when taking the currently marketed oral contraceptives” explains Professor Jean-Michel Foidart.

“E4 is the first known natural SERM (selective oestrogen-receptor modulator) and exhibits anti-oestrogenic effects on breast cancer in preclinical and clinical studies. E4 might be safer for the breast than standard oestrogens. Its favourable clinical side-effect profile implies that E4-containing new drugs should have a very beneficial favourable benefit-risk ratio,” comments Professor Herjan J.T. Coelingh Bennink, CEO and President | Pantarhei Bioscience, which initiated and co-developed Estelle.

Early Stage development opportunities

Mithra has acquired 3 additional potential programs in early stage development; including Alyssa™ a new generation hormonal IUD and Colvir™ which is being studied for the treatment of pre-malignant cervical lesions associated with HPV (Human Papilloma Virus).

“The acquisition of these products represents an excellent opportunity not only to expand our portfolio, but also to ensure that both the health care professionals and the patient community can benefit in the future from significant therapeutic advances,” emphasises Francois Fornieri, CEO of Mithra Pharmaceuticals.

Mithra will integrate the scientific workforce and will assume all of the ongoing obligations relating to the development programs.

Mithra Pharmaceuticals consolidates its partnership with Club Brugge

For several years now, Mithra has been investing in football by sponsoring Standard Club (men’s and women’s team) together with Club Brugge. These two clubs share a history and common values with Mithra. From the outset, the company has perceived football as a means of opening up to new networks, and also to promote women, its core business, in all aspects of daily life, including male-dominated sports.
<h2>National visibility</h2>
This new partnership between Mithra and Club Brugge completely falls within the scope of the development ambitions of the Liège spin-off, particularly with the capital-raising it envisages.

Better known in Wallonia than in Flanders, Mithra above all sees itself as a Belgian company. This is why the company wishes to develop and consolidate its notoriety in Flanders, through greater visibility to the general public and potential industrial and financial partners. This new partnership can obviously contribute to this goal.
<blockquote>“For many years now, we have been supporting women’s sports clubs which are developing in male-dominated sports such as basketball and football. The connection with our core business, women’s health, is undeniable”, emphasises François Fornieri, CEO of Mithra Pharmaceuticals and a passionate football supporter. “Mithra notably owes its success to its local roots in Belgium. Sport brings people together, throughout the world. By sponsoring sports teams, Mithra wishes to be a part of society. This is also particularly motivating for company employees who are inspired by “our” clubs’ performance. This motivates them and strengthens our team’s cohesion and dynamism.”</blockquote>

Mithra Pharmaceuticals renforce son portefeuille d’innovations en reprenant des projets d’Uteron

Mithra Pharmaceuticals SA, spin-off de l’ULg et spécialiste belge de la santé féminine, acquiert 4 projets innovants issus du portefeuille R&D d’Uteron Pharma, filiale de Actavis Plc ainsi que les membres du personnel scientifique. Ces projets sont : Estelle™, Colvir™, Alyssa™ et Vaginate™

Ces projets viennent renforcer la capacité en R&D du groupe Mithra et représente une opportunité pour l’entreprise de devenir un acteur majeur dans la santé de la femme.

Estelle™, une nouvelle génération de contraception orale en développement à base d’un composé naturel, l’estetrol

Estelle™ est une prochaine génération de contraception orale combinée (COC) à base d’un estrogène naturel, l’Estetrol (E4), dont la pharmacocinétique et pharmacodynamie seraient favorable pour la santé de la femme et dont les profils de sécurité et de tolérance constitueraient une percée importante dans le domaine de la contraception. Etudié en association avec un progestatif, les résultats des études de Phase II ont montré à la fois une bonne activité contraceptive et un impact favorable sur le profil de saignement des patientes.

La commercialisation mondiale d’Estelle™ est attendue pour 2019. On estime aujourd’hui à plus de 100 millions les femmes qui prennent une contraception orale de façon régulière.

« Présent à des niveaux élevés pendant la grossesse, E4 est un stéroïde naturel produit par le fœtus humain. Tout en conférant potentiellement une protection contre le risque thromboembolique veineux profond, E4 entraînerait également moins d’effets secondaires subjectifs comme : tension mammaire, gain de poids, œdème, nausées, ballonnements abdominaux, maux de tête, changements d’humeur que l’on peut rencontrer lors de la prise des contraceptifs oraux actuellement disponibles » cite le professeur Jean-Michel Foidart.

« E4 est le premier SERM connu (selective oestrogen-receptor modulator) et présente une activité anti estrogénique démontré dans le domaine du cancer du sein tant sur le plan préclinique que clinique. E4 présenterait un profil de sécurité amélioré par rapport aux œstrogènes standards. Son profil clinique favorable sur le plan des effets secondaires laisse envisager un ratio bénéfice-risque bénéfique et très favorable des futurs médicaments contenant de l’E4 », explique plus avant le Professeur Herjan J.T. Coelingh Bennink, CEO et Président de Pantarhei Bioscience, initiateur et Co-développeur de Estelle™.

Projets en phase précoce de développement

Outre le projet Estelle™ Mithra a acquis trois projets de recherche dans leur phase initiale de développement ; dont Alyssa™, un stérilet hormonal de nouvelle génération et Colvir™ qui est à l’étude pour le traitement des lésions pré malignes du col de l’utérus liées au virus HPV (Human Papilloma Virus).

« Ces acquisitions représentent non seulement une excellente opportunité de développer notre portfolio, mais aussi de pouvoir faire bénéficier dans le futur à la fois le corps médical et la communauté de patients d’avancées thérapeutiques importantes » souligne François Fornieri, CEO de Mithra Pharmaceuticals.

Mithra va intégrer le personnel scientifique et assumera la continuité des programmes de développement.

Mithra Pharmaceuticals renforce son partenariat avec le Club de Bruges

Depuis plusieurs années, Mithra investit dans le monde du football en sponsorisant le Club du Standard (équipe féminine et masculine) ainsi que le Club de Bruges. Deux clubs avec lesquels Mithra partage un historique et des valeurs communes. Dès le départ, la société voit à travers le football un moyen de s’ouvrir à de nouveaux réseaux, mais aussi de faire la promotion de la femme, son corebusiness, dans tous les aspects de la vie quotidienne, y compris dans les sports à prédominance masculine.

Une visibilité nationale

Ce nouveau partenariat entre Mithra et le Club de Bruges s’inscrit pleinement dans les ambitions de développement de la spin-off Liégeoise et plus particulièrement avec la levée de capitaux qu’elle envisage.

Plus connue en Wallonie qu’en Flandre, Mithra se veut avant tout une entreprise belge. C’est pourquoi la société souhaite développer et renforcer sa notoriété en Flandre, au travers d’une visibilité accrue auprès du grand public et de potentiels partenaires industriels et financiers. Une volonté à laquelle ce nouveau partenariat pourra évidemment contribuer.

« Nous soutenons depuis des années des clubs sportifs féminins qui évoluent dans des sports à prédominance masculine comme le basketball ou le football. Le lien avec notre corebusiness, la santé de la femme, est indéniable », souligne François Fornieri, CEO de Mithra Pharmaceuticals et fervent supporter de football. « Mithra doit notamment son succès à son ancrage local en Belgique. Le sport rapproche les gens et ce, partout dans le monde. En sponsorisant des équipes sportives, Mithra souhaite donc s’intégrer dans la vie sociale. C’est aussi particulièrement stimulant pour les collaborateurs de la société qui s’inspirent des prestations de ‘nos’ clubs. Cela les motive et renforce la cohésion et la dynamique de notre équipe. »