Walloon Coucke and Flemish Fornieri set the tone for Belgian pharma

  • Mithra Pharmaceuticals raises an additional 40 million euros by including Marc Coucke in its capital.
  • Marc Coucke will chair Mithra’s strategic committee in anticipation of an initial public offering in 2015.

2015 will evidently be a key year for the Mithra group which has recently announced the takeover of certain R&D projects from Utéron Pharma in early January.

The acquisition of these 4 research projects with high added value includes Estelle, a next-generation combined oral contraceptive (COC) containing a natural oestrogen, Estetrol (E4) touted as the Group’s future flagship product.

Since 2014, Mithra has also been investing in the north of the country so as to consolidate its visibility in Flanders, meeting with potential investors. Despite the fact that the two men have known about and kept up-to-date with each other’s progress for a long time, François Fornieri, the Walloon Marc Coucke, and Marc Coucke, the Flemish Fornieri, have finally met.

With input from Marc Coucke, Mithra Pharmaceuticals clearly intends to challenge the world of gynaecology with an agent like Estetrol.

Marc Coucke, who has recently invested in Bart Versluys’ property projects, had promised to invest in a business with which he was more familiar. It is therefore natural for the CEO of Omega Pharma to be interested in Mithra’s success story.

“Before committing myself, I spoke to numerous pharmacists, doctors and also bankers, and Mithra has a very good reputation,” explains Marc Coucke.

A promising project

The Flemish business man is investing 40 million euros in total. This is a sensational introduction into the Mithra shareholder team which has already managed to raise a total of 63 million euros in one year, thus making it possible to finance the construction of its future development and production centre in Flémalle.

The 40 million euros invested by Marc Coucke will mainly be injected into the Estelle™ project, a next-generation combined oral contraceptive (COC) containing a natural oestrogen, Estetrol (E4), the pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic profile of which is expected to be favourable for women’s health, and for which the safety and tolerability profile represents a major breakthrough in the field of contraception. Studied in combination with a progestogen, the results of the phase II studies demonstrated both good contraceptive activity and a favourable impact on the patient bleeding profile.

“Found at high levels during pregnancy, E4 is a natural steroid produced by the human foetus. While potentially conferring protection against the risk of deep-vein thromboembolism, E4 is also said to give rise to fewer subjective side effects such as: tender breasts, weight gain, oedema, nausea, abdominal bloating, headaches and mood changes which may be encountered when taking the oral contraceptives currently on the market,” cites Professor Jean-Michel Foidart.

“E4 is the first known SERM (selective oestrogen-receptor modulator) and displays a proven anti-oestrogen activity in the field of breast cancer both at preclinical and clinical level. E4 is said to display an improved safety profile compared with standard oestrogens. Its favourable clinical profile in terms of side effects suggests a beneficial and highly favourable benefit/risk ratio for future medicinal products containing E4,” expands Professor Herjan J.T. Coelingh Bennink, CEO and Chairman of Pantarhei Bioscience, initiator and co-developer of Estelle™.

The worldwide market launch of Estelle™ is expected in 4 or 5 years. More than 100 million women are currently estimated to use regular oral contraceptives.

A strategic partnership

“We are going to benefit from Marc Coucke’s experience to broaden our Benelux portfolio, but also to open doors to new markets,” explains François Fornieri, CEO of Mithra Pharmaceuticals.

Marc Coucke will join and chair the firm’s strategic committee as from February 26, and will lend his expertise to the national and international development of the Group.

“The synergism between the Walloon Coucke and Flemish Fornieri can only be successful!” explains Marc Coucke, Mithra’s new shareholder. “I felt this from the first meeting with François Fornieri and his team. Together, we will help Mithra’s structure to evolve. In my role as chairman of the strategic committee, I will be able to intervene to varying degrees in an operational manner on issues such as budget, preparation of the IPO and the Group’s next acquisitions. Together, we will aim for astounding success. Mithra offers a unique combination with profitable business activities based on strong growth, with great potential, and a somewhat biotech business activity which could create a blockbuster. Hence, Mithra has every asset in order to achieve both short-term and long-term success. Furthermore, Mithra is investing in R&D in Wallonia, and I am delighted to be able to contribute to the economic development of Wallonia!”

“Marc Coucke and I have a great deal in common. We both put the same passion into everything we do, we both love art, football, etc., and our career paths are somewhat similar, hence, this professional partnership is very natural. It is incredible how quickly we reached an agreement. The Flemish Fornieri and the Walloon Coucke clearly speak the same language.”

Le Coucke wallon et le Fornieri flamand donnent le ton du pharma belge

  • Mithra Pharmaceuticals lève 40 millions d’euros supplémentaires en intégrant Marc Coucke dans son capital.
  • Marc Coucke présidera le comité stratégique de Mithra en prévision d’une entrée en bourse en 2015.

2015 sera décidément une année porteuse pour le groupe Mithra qui vient d’annoncer la reprise de certains projets de recherche et développement d‘Utéron Pharma début janvier.

Parmi l’acquisition de ces 4 projets de recherche à haute valeur ajoutée, Estelle, une prochaine génération de contraception orale combinée (COC) à base d’un estrogène naturel, l’Estetrol (E4) pressenti comme étant le futur fleuron du Groupe.

Depuis 2014, Mithra investit également au nord du pays afin de renforcer sa visibilité en Flandre et rencontrer des investisseurs potentiels. Malgré le fait que les deux hommes se connaissaient et se suivaient depuis longtemps, François Fornieri, le Marc Coucke wallon et Marc Coucke, le Fornieri Flamand, se rencontrent enfin.

Avec l’apport de Marc Coucke, Mithra Pharmaceuticals entend bien challenger le monde de la gynécologie avec une molécule telle que l’Estetrol.

De son côté, Marc Coucke, qui vient d’investir dans les projets immobiliers de Bart Versluys, avait promis d’investir dans un business qui lui serait plus familier. C’est donc naturellement que le CEO d’Omega Pharma s’est intéressé à la success story Mithra.

« Avant de me lancer, j’ai parlé avec de nombreux pharmaciens, médecins, mais aussi banquiers et Mithra a une très bonne réputation », explique Marc Coucke.

Un projet prometteur

Au total, la somme de 40 millions d’euros est investie par l’homme d’affaire flamand. Une entrée fracassante dans l’actionnariat de Mithra qui est déjà parvenu à soulever un total de 63 millions d’euros en un an, permettant ainsi de financer la construction de son futur centre de développement et de production à Flémalle.

Les 40 millions d’euros investis par Marc Coucke seront injectés principalement dans le projet Estelle™, une prochaine génération de contraception orale combinée (COC) à base d’un estrogène naturel, l’Estetrol (E4), dont la pharmacocinétique et pharmacodynamie seraient favorable pour la santé de la femme et dont les profils de sécurité et de tolérance constitueraient une percée importante dans le domaine de la contraception. Etudié en association avec un progestatif, les résultats des études de Phase II ont montré à la fois une bonne activité contraceptive et un impact favorable sur le profil de saignement des patientes.

« Présent à des niveaux élevés pendant la grossesse, E4 est un stéroïde naturel produit par le fœtus humain. Tout en conférant potentiellement une protection contre le risque thromboembolique veineux profond, E4 entraînerait également moins d’effets secondaires subjectifs comme : tension mammaire, gain de poids, œdème, nausées, ballonnements abdominaux, maux de tête, changements d’humeur que l’on peut rencontrer lors de la prise des contraceptifs oraux actuellement disponibles » cite le professeur Jean-Michel Foidart.

« E4 est le premier SERM connu (selective oestrogen-receptor modulator) et présente une activité anti estrogénique démontré dans le domaine du cancer du sein tant sur le plan préclinique que clinique. E4 présenterait un profil de sécurité amélioré par rapport aux œstrogènes standards. Son profil clinique favorable sur le plan des effets secondaires laisse envisager un ratio bénéfice-risque bénéfique et très favorable des futurs médicaments contenant de l’E4 », explique plus avant le Professeur Herjan J.T. Coelingh Bennink, CEO et Président de Pantarhei Bioscience, initiateur et Co-développeur de Estelle™.

La commercialisation mondiale d’Estelle™ est attendue dans 4 ou 5 ans. On estime aujourd’hui à plus de 100 millions les femmes qui prennent une contraception orale de façon régulière.

Un partenariat stratégique

« Nous allons bénéficier de l’expérience de Marc Coucke pour élargir notre portefeuille benelux mais aussi pour nous ouvrir les portes de nouveaux marchés » explique François Fornieri, CEO de Mithra Pharmaceuticals.

Marc Coucke rejoindra le comité stratégique de l’entreprise qu’il présidera dès le 26 février, et apportera son expertise au développement du Groupe sur le plan national et international.

« La synergie entre le Coucke wallon et le Fornieri flamand, ça ne peut que marcher! » explique Marc Coucke, nouvel actionnaire de Mithra. « Je l’ai ressenti dès la première rencontre avec François Fornieri et son équipe. Ensemble, nous allons faire évoluer la structure de Mithra. Dans mon rôle de président du comité stratégique, je pourrai intervenir de manière plus ou moins opérationnelle sur des thématiques telles que le budget, la préparation de l’IPO et les prochaines acquisitions du Groupe. Ensemble, nous allons aller à la conquête d’un succès qui pourrait être étonnant. Mithra offre une combinaison unique avec d’un côté, une activité de base en forte croissance, rentable avec beaucoup de potentiel, et de l’autre, une activité plutôt biotech qui pourrait créer un blockbuster. Donc Mithra a tous les atouts pour créer un succès à court et à long terme. De plus, Mithra investit en recherche et en production en Wallonie et cela me rend heureux de pouvoir contribuer au développement économique de la Wallonie! ».

« Marc Coucke et moi avons beaucoup de points communs, nous mettons tous les deux la même passion dans tout ce que nous réalisons, nous partageons notre goût pour l’art, le football… nos parcours sont presque similaires, c’est donc très naturellement que nous en sommes venu à collaborer professionnellement. C’est étonnant la vitesse à laquelle nous en sommes venus à un accord, le Fornieri flamand et le Coucke wallon parlent décidément le même langage. »