Mithra Pharmaceuticals acquires full rights to Estetrol (E4) from Pantarhei Bioscience

Two months after acquiring the rights to Estetrol in the field of oral contraceptives and the recent capital inflow from M. Coucke, Mithra Pharmaceuticals is once again consolidating its innovation portfolio, this time by acquiring full rights to Estetrol from Pantarhei Bioscience. This agent offers therapeutic prospects perfectly in keeping with the four main spheres of gynaecology covered by Mithra Pharmaceuticals.

“Mithra is a pharmaceutical company focused on women’s health. Through our products and Research & Development projects, we cover the four major spheres of gynaecology, namely fertility and contraception, the menopause and osteoporosis, gynaecological infections, and also cancer. The acquisition of Donesta gives us the opportunity to operate several patents in three of our four therapeutic areas. This is major progress in our company’s position,” explains François Fornieri, CEO of Mithra Pharmaceuticals.

Pantarhei Bioscience will receive an initial payment, together with milestones based on the successful development of projects relating to the menopause.

Mithra Pharmaceuticals will grant Pantarhei Bioscience a licence for the development of human applications in oncology and veterinary applications. The Dutch firm will study therapies for reproductive organ cancers, such as ovarian cancer and breast cancer. Mithra will have the right to first refusal should Pantarhei Bioscience undertake partnership negotiations.

Professor Herjan Coelingh Bennink, CEO of Pantarhei Bioscience, will be on the board of Mithra Pharmaceuticals and will become Co-Chairman of the scientific committee.

“We are delighted about this acquisition which has given Mithra Pharmaceuticals additional essential assets. Mithra intends to focus initially on the applications relating to contraception and the menopause, two essential and extremely dynamic markets,” declares François Fornieri, CEO of Mithra Pharmaceuticals.

About Estetrol

Estetrol (E4) is a natural oestrogen produced in large quantities by the human foetal liver. The role of E4 in embryonic physiology and/or human pregnancy has not yet been determined. E4 passes into the maternal blood circulation via the placenta. E4 can be detected from the ninth week of pregnancy. Maternal and foetal E4 concentrations increase exponentially throughout pregnancy, reaching their maximum at term, when the foetal concentrations recorded are approximately 10 to 20 times higher than maternal levels. This natural evidence during the most vulnerable physiological situation that exist tends to suggest the superior safety of this substance.

Result of preclinical studies

The pharmacological profile of E4 was characterised in detail by Pantarhei Bioscience in the context of a series of preclinical studies. E4 has revealed several major potential advantages relative to the oestrogens currently used, such as conjugated equine oestrogens (CEO), estrone (E1), estradiol (E2), estriol (E3) and ethinylestradiol (EE). During oral administration, E4 acts an oestrogen at vaginal, uterine and bone level, demonstrating a profile “which preserves the hepatic environment”. Furthermore, E4 eliminates hot flushes and prevents ovulation. More surprisingly, E4 acts as an oestrogen antagonist in breast tissue. In a validated rat model, it was shown to be able to prevent the development of breast tumours and eliminate pre-existing breast tumours in the presence of estradiol (E2).

“The key characteristic of Estetrol is its differentiated action mechanism according to tissue. This is known as ‘SERM’ (selective oestrogen receptor modulator),” explains Herjan Coelingh Bennink, CEO of Pantarhei Bioscience. “Estetrol acts both as a relatively potent oestrogen on certain types of tissue such as the vaginal mucosa, bone and brain – which explains the effect on hot flushes and inhibition of ovulation –, whereas it has a neutral effect on other types of tissue such as the liver – hence the fact that it does not stimulate coagulation and does not increase the risk of thrombosis and embolism. Lastly, it has an anti-oestrogen effect on breast tissue. We therefore have access to an oestrogen without any negative consequences on coagulation and which does not appear to have any consequences on breast cancer”.

Result of clinical studies

Studies have shown that, once administered to post-menopausal women, E4 effectively reduces the frequency of hot flushes and nocturnal sweating. The results of phase 1 studies also prove that E4 does not appear to stimulate breast cancer and could even exert an inhibitory effect. Lastly, E4 has a positive action on bone metabolism and could therefore be used in the context of the prevention or treatment of osteoporosis. These results support the development of hormone replacement therapy (HRT) containing E4 in the hope of maintaining the current benefits of HRT (reduction in hot flushes, improvement in bone quality and quality of life) while reducing the risk profile (cardiovascular disease, thrombosis, embolism and breast cancer).

About the menopause

“Estetrol is very promising in the field of the menopause: It relieves vasomotor symptoms, unpleasant hot flushes and, at low doses, stimulates keratinocyte proliferation in the vaginal mucosa, which makes it a potential treatment for vaginal atrophy and urogenital complaints (micturition disorders, dyspareunia, and vaginal dryness).[1] Until now, short-term studies have been conducted, with small numbers of women, but are generating positive results. The next step is to investigate for the ideal dose (phase II studies), which will be followed by a study including a larger number of female patients. In order to implement and finance this development, we have found Mithra to be a solid partner, recognised in the field of women’s health,” explains Herjan Coelingh Bennink, CEO of Pantarhei Bioscience.

About Pantarhei Bioscience

Pantarhei Bioscience is a Dutch pharmaceutical company created in 2001, specialising in the development of innovative therapeutic approaches in the fields of women’s health and cancer therapies. Guided by a clear goal for innovation, the company develops and patents totally innovative therapeutic concepts based on existing compounds. An innovative vision is applied throughout preclinical and clinical studies, until proof of the clinical feasibility of the concept is achieved, and the next step is always entrusted to a partner.

[1] 1. Visser M, Coelingh Bennink HJT. Clinical applications for estetrol. J Reproductionsmed Endocrinol 2010;7(Sonderheft 1):56-60.

Mithra Pharmaceuticals acquiert tous les droits de Pantarhei Bioscience sur l’Estétrol (E4)

Deux mois après l’acquisition des droits sur l’Estétrol dans le domaine de la contraception orale et la récente entrée en capital de M. Coucke, Mithra Pharmaceuticals renforce encore son portefeuille d’innovation en faisant, cette fois, l’acquisition de l’ensemble des droits détenus par Pantarhei Bioscience sur l’Estétrol. Une molécule offrant des perspectives thérapeutiques en parfaite adéquation avec les quatre grandes sphères de la gynécologie couvertes par Mithra Pharmaceuticals.

« Mithra est une société pharmaceutique axée sur la santé féminine. Nous couvrons grâce à nos produits et à travers nos projets de Recherche et Développement les quatre grandes sphères de la gynécologie. A savoir la fertilité et la contraception, la ménopause et l’ostéoporose, les infections gynécologiques, mais aussi les cancers. L’acquisition de Donesta nous offre l’opportunité d’exploiter plusieurs brevets dans trois de nos quatre domaines thérapeutiques. Une avancée majeure pour le positionnement de notre société » explique François Fornieri, CEO de Mithra Pharmaceuticals.

Pantarhei Bioscience recevra un paiement initial ainsi que des milestones en fonction du succès du développement des projets relatifs à la ménopause.

Mithra Pharmaceuticals concède à Pantarhei Bioscience une licence de développement des applications oncologiques humaines et des applications vétérinaires. La société néerlandaise se penchera sur le traitement du cancer des organes reproducteurs tels que le cancer des ovaires et le cancer du sein. Mithra dispose d’un droit de premier refus en cas où Pantarhei Bioscience entamerait des négociations de partenariat.

Le professeur Herjan Coelingh Bennink, CEO de Pantarhei Bioscience, sera intégré au board de Mithra Pharmaceuticals et deviendra Co-Président du comité scientifique.

 » Nous nous réjouissons de cette acquisition qui donne un actif supplémentaire essentiel à Mithra Pharmaceuticals. Mithra a l’intention de se focaliser dans un premier temps sur les applications relatives à la contraception et à la ménopause, deux marchés essentiels et extrêmement porteurs », déclare François Fornieri, CEO de Mithra Pharmaceuticals.

A propos de l’Estétrol

L’Estétrol (E4) est un œstrogène naturel produit en grandes quantités par le foie du fœtus humain. Le rôle de l’E4 dans la physiologie embryonnaire et/ou la grossesse humaine demeure inconnu. L’E4 passe dans la circulation sanguine maternelle via le placenta. Au cours d’une grossesse, l’E4 est détectable à partir de la neuvième semaine. Les concentrations maternelles et fœtales d’E4 augmentent de manière exponentielle tout au long de la grossesse, atteignant leur maximum au terme, où les taux fœtaux enregistrés apparaissent environ 10 à 20 fois plus élevés que les niveaux maternels. Cette démonstration de la nature pendant la situation physiologique la plus vulnérable qui soit, tend à suggérer une tolérance supérieure de cette molécule.

Résultat des études précliniques

Le profil pharmacologique de l’E4 a été caractérisé en détail par Pantarhei Bioscience dans le cadre d’une série d’études précliniques. L’E4 a révélé plusieurs avantages potentiels importants par rapport aux œstrogènes actuellement utilisés, tels que les œstrogènes équins conjugués (OEC), l’estrone (E1), l’estradiol (E2), l’estriol (E3) et l’éthinylestradiol (EE). En administration orale, l’E4 agit comme un œstrogène au niveau du vagin, de l’utérus et des os, montrant un profil « respectueux de l’environnement hépatique ». L’E4 supprime par ailleurs les bouffées de chaleur et empêche l’ovulation. Plus surprenant, l’E4 agit tel un antagoniste des œstrogènes au niveau des tissus mammaires. Dans un modèle de rat validé, il a en effet été mis en évidence qu’il permettait d’empêcher le développement de tumeurs mammaires et d’éliminer les tumeurs du sein pré-existantes en présence d’estradiol (E2).

« Ce qui est caractéristique de l’Estétrol, c’est son mode d’action différencié en fonction des tissus. C’est ce que nous appelons un ‘SERM’ (Selective Estrogen Receptor Modulator) » explique Herjan Coelingh Bennink, CEO de Pantarhei Bioscience. « L’Estétrol agit tantôt comme un oestrogène relativement puissant sur certains tissus comme la muqueuse vaginale, l’os et le cerveau – ce qui explique l’effet sur les bouffées de chaleur et le blocage de l’ovulation –, alors qu’il a un effet neutre sur d’autres tissus comme le foie – d’où le fait qu’il ne stimule pas la coagulation et n’augmente pas le risque de thrombose et d’embolie. Enfin, il a un effet anti-oestrogénique au niveau du tissu mammaire. Nous avons donc à notre disposition un oestrogène sans conséquence négative pour la coagulation et qui ne semble avoir aucune conséquence pour le cancer du sein ».

Résultat des études cliniques

Les études ont démontré qu’une fois administré à des femmes en post-ménopause, l’E4 diminuait efficacement la fréquence des bouffées de chaleur et des sueurs nocturnes. Les résultats des études de Phase 1 prouvent également que l’E4 ne semble pas stimuler le cancer du sein et qu’il pourrait même exercer sur lui un effet inhibiteur. Enfin, l’E4 agit de manière positive sur le métabolisme osseux et pourrait donc être utilisé dans le cadre de la prévention ou du traitement de l’ostéoporose. Ces résultats appuient le développement d’un Traitement Hormonal de Substitution (THS) à base d’E4 dans l’espoir de maintenir les avantages actuels du THS (réduction des bouffées de chaleur, amélioration de la qualité des os et de la qualité de vie) tout en diminuant le profil de risque (maladies cardio-vasculaires, thromboses, embolies et cancers du sein).

A propos de la ménopause

« L’Estétrol est très prometteur dans le domaine de la ménopause : Il soulage les symptômes vasomoteurs, les bouffées de chaleur gênantes et, à faible dose, il stimule la prolifération des kératinocytes au niveau de la muqueuse vaginale, ce qui en fait un traitement potentiel de l’atrophie vaginale et des plaintes urogénitales (troubles de la miction, dyspareunie, sécheresse vaginale).[1] Les études réalisées à ce jour sont de courte durée et avec de petits nombres de femmes, mais cela fonctionne. L’étape suivante est la recherche de la dose idéale (études de phase II) et ensuite viendra une étude incluant un plus grand nombre de patientes. Afin de réaliser et financer ce développement nous avons trouvé en Mithra un partenaire solide et reconnu dans le domaine de la santé féminine. » explique Herjan Coelingh Bennink, CEO de Pantarhei Bioscience.

A propos de Pantarhei Bioscience

Pantarhei Bioscience est une société pharmaceutique néerlandaise crée en 2001 spécialisée dans le développement d’approches thérapeutiques innovantes dans les domaines de la santé féminine et du traitement du cancer. Guidée par un objectif clair d’innovation, l’entreprise développe et brevette des concepts thérapeutiques totalement novateurs sur la base de composés existants. Une vision novatrice menée tout au long des études précliniques et cliniques jusqu’à la preuve de faisabilité clinique du concept, la suite étant toujours confiée à un partenaire.

[1] 1. Visser M, Coelingh Bennink HJT. Clinical applications for estetrol. J Reproductionsmed Endocrinol 2010;7(Sonderheft 1):56-60.